The Interviewees 2019

The nucleus of Leadership Matters consists of 36 interviews with history and cultural heritage museum leaders from across the U.S. and Canada.  We heartily thank our interviewees for their candid, thoughtful, enthusiastic, often poignant and sometimes funny, reflections on their personal career journeys, museum leadership today, and what the heck it all means.

Some of our interviewees have changed positions since we interviewed them.  We note their current positions, followed by the position they held when we contacted them.

LaTanya Autry, Independent Curator and Cultural Organizer.

Dina Bailey, Director of Methodology and Practice, International Sites of Conscience, New York. Formerly, CEO, Mountain Top Vision, LLC.

Trevor Beemon, Executive Director, Cobb Landmarks and Historical Society, Inc. (GA). Formerly, Manager of Digital Communications, Atlanta History Center (GA).

Cheryl Blackman, Director, Museums & Heritage Services at the City of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.

Jamie O. Bosket, President and CEO, Virginia Museum of History & Culture. Formerly, Vice President, Interpretation and Events Division, George Washington’s Mount Vernon, (VA).

Edward R. Bosley, James N. Gamble Director, The Gamble House (CA).

Robert Burns, Director, Mattatuck Museum (CT).

Janet Carding, Director, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. Formerly, Director and CEO, Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto, Canada.

Karen Carter, Founding Executive Director, Myseum, Toronto, Canada.

Gonzalo Casals, Director at Leslie-Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art (NYC). Formerly, Director of Public Programs, Education & Community Engagement, Friends of the High Line (NYC) and Deputy Executive Director, El Museo del Barrio (NY).

Catherine Charlebois, Curator of Exhibitions, Collections and Oral History Programs, Centre d’histoire de Montreal, Canada.

Melissa Chiu, Director, Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (DC).  Formerly, Museum Director and Senior Vice President, Global Arts and Cultural Programs, Asia Society Museum, (NY).

Christy S. Coleman, President and CEO, American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar (VA).

Kippen de Alba Chu,  Chief of Staff, Fort Worth Museum of Science & Industry, Fort Worth (TX). Formerly, Executive Director, Iolani Palace (HI).

James Enote, Executive Director, A:shiwi A:wan Museum and Heritage Center (NM).

Ilene J. Frank, Chief Curator and COO, Connecticut Historical Society. Formerly, Executive Director, Rensselaer County Historical Society (NY).

Sean Kelly, Senior Vice President, Director of Interpretation, Eastern State Penitentiary (PA).

Jennifer S. Kilmer, Director, Washington State Historical Society (WA).

Robert A. Kret,  CEO, Connecticut Historical Society (CT). Formerly, Director, Georgia O’Keeffe Museum, (NM).

Lisa Lee, Executive Director, National Public Housing Museum (IL)

Burt Logan, Executive Director, Ohio History Connection (OH). Formerly, Executive Director and CEO, Ohio Historical Society (OH).

Andrew E. Masich, President and CEO, Senator John Heinz History Center (PA).

Tonya M. Matthews, Ph.D., President & CEO, Michigan Science Center.  Former Vice President of Museums, Cincinnati Museum Center (OH).

Azuka MuMin, Senior Vice President, Engagement & Impact, Vice President, Diversity Inclusion and Partnerships, and Senior Director, Community Outreach and Engagement, Center of Science and Industry (OH).

Anne Grimes Rand, President, USS Constitution Museum (MA).

Nathan Richie, Director, Golden History Museum & Park (CO).

Van A. Romans, President, Fort Worth Museum of Science and History (TX).

Rebecca M. Slaughter, Museum System Administrator, City of Las Cruses (NM).  Formerly, Director, Branigan Cultural Center (NM).

Ryan Joshua Spencer, Executive Director, Historic Smithfield Plantation (VA). Formerly, Senior Manager Venue Interpretation and Firestone Farm and Manager, Firestone Farm and Equine Operations, The Henry Ford (MI).

Chris Taylor, Chief Inclusion Officer, State of Minnesota. Formerly, Diversity Outreach Program Manager, Minnesota Historical Society (MN).

Franklin Vagnone, President and CEO, Old Salem Museum and Gardens (NC).

Sally Roesch Wagner, Founder and Executive Director, Matilda Joslyn Gage Center (NY).

Kent Whitworth, Director, Minnesota Historical Society (MN). Formerly, Executive Director, Kentucky Historical Society (KY).

Hallie Winter, Collections Manager, American Indian Cultural Center and Museum (OK)

David W. Young, Executive Director, Delaware Historical Society (DE). Formerly, Executive Director, Cliveden (PA).

Jorge Zamanillo, Executive Director, HistoryMiami (FL).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s